About the Commission

The North Carolina Commission on the Administration of Law and Justice, convened by Chief Justice Mark Martin, is an independent, multidisciplinary commission that will undertake a comprehensive evaluation of our judicial system and make recommendations for strengthening our courts within the existing administrative framework.
Note: The Commission completed its work on July 31, 2017. See the Final Report for more information.

Learn More

About the Committees

The commission includes five co-chairs: Catharine Arrowood, Justice Barbara Jackson, Dean David Levi,
retired Magistrate Judge William Webb, and Brad Wilson. Committees focus on the following areas of inquiry: Civil Justice, Criminal Investigation and Adjudication, Legal Professionalism, Public Trust and Confidence, and Technology.
Learn More

About the Judicial Branch

The North Carolina Constitution establishes the Judicial Branch as an equal and distinctively separate branch of state government. North Carolina’s court system, called the General Court of Justice, is a state-operated and state-funded unified court system. The General Court of Justice consists of three divisions: the appellate court division, the superior court division, and district court division.

Learn More

Areas of Inquiry

The commission’s work is focused on five critically important areas to the justice system, to the rule of law, and to the people of  North Carolina.

To learn more about the work of a Committee, click the appropriate link to the right for meeting agendas and materials.

Recent News

Read our latest headlines and news releases.

Learn More

Considering how North Carolina courts can best meet institutional needs and 21st century public expectations