The North Carolina Commission on the Administration of Law and Justice (NCCALJ) is a sixty-five member, multidisciplinary commission convened by Chief Justice Mark Martin in September 2015 in order to undertake a comprehensive review of North Carolina’s Judicial System and make recommendations for improving the administration of justice. The Commission’s diverse membership was divided into five Committees corresponding to five areas of inquiry: (1) Civil Justice; (2) Criminal Investigation and Adjudication; (3) Legal Professionalism; (4) Public Trust and Confidence; and (5) Technology.

The NCCALJ’s Final Report is the culmination of fifteen months of focused inquiry, informed dialogue, robust discussion, and extensive collaboration. It is essential that any court system be trusted by, and have the confidence of, the public that it serves. The NCCALJ’s recommendations reflect the understanding that public trust and confidence in our court system is at its highest when the courts are seen as fair, accessible, and effectively managed.

Part One of the NCCALJ Final Report provides background on the Commission’s work and the overall themes that guided its recommendations. Part Two contains the individual reports for each of the NCCALJ’s five Committees. Appendices contain further details and information in support of the Committee reports.

The NCCALJ Final Report

VIEW FINAL REPORT (full report, including appendices)

Part One (Overview, Commission Members, Executive Summary)

Part Two
Click on individual committee reports and appendices below

Civil Justice Committee Report
Criminal Investigation and Adjudication Committee Report

Appendix A – Juvenile Reinvestment
Appendix B – Criminal Case Management
Appendix C – Pretrial Justice
Appendix D – Improving Indigent Defense Services

Legal Professionalism Committee Report
Public Trust and Confidence Committee Report
Technology Committee Report

Appendix E – eCourts Strategic Technology Plan

The NCCALJ’s work was made possible with financial support from the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, the State Justice Institute, and the North Carolina Governor’s Crime Commission.